Past Events

Esther de Lange

Esther de Lange is Vice-Chair of the European People's Party (EPP) in the European Parliament, representing the Dutch political party Christian Democratic Appeal (CDA). She is currently a member of the Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs (ECON) and the Committee on Industry, Research and Energy (ITRE). She is also a member of the Delegations for relations with the US and Russia. As a Rapporteur for the European Parliament on the European Deposit Insurance Scheme (EDIS), she is leading the negotiations for setting up a mechanism for insuring consumers’ savings in case of a failing financial institution. She is also leading the negotiations on behalf of the EPP on a future revision of the EU’s Emission Trading Scheme (ETS). As Vice-Chair of the EPP she is furthermore responsible for the relations with the national Parliaments.


Esther de Lange was born in the Netherlands on February 19th 1975 in Spaubeek, in the very South of The Netherlands, close to the German and Belgium borders. She studied European Studies in The Hague. During this study she participated in an ERASMUS exchange program and studied Political Science at the University of Lyon in France. In 1998 she finished the political-administrative specialization of European Studies in The Hague cum laude by writing a thesis on the Amsterdam Treaty. From 1999 until 2001 she studied international relations at the French-speaking University in Brussels.  

During her studies Esther de Lange held several jobs at the ANWB, a Dutch traffic and transport organization in Lyon, and at the European Federation of National Organisations Working with the Homeless in Brussels. In 1998 she worked as a lobbyist for two German associations in Brussels, representing the food industry. Since 1999 she worked as a policy officer for the CDA delegation at the European Parliament, where she focused mainly on themes like Food Safety, Environment, Agriculture and budgetary matters. In April 2007 Esther de Lange herself became a Member of the European Parliament and was subsequently reelected in 2009 and 2014, when she was the front-runner of the CDA list.

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload